History of Trinity College, University of Dublin Ireland

Abbreviated List of Notable Graduates and Events

Latin: Collegium Sacrosanctae et Individuae Trinitatis Reginae Elizabethae juxta Dublin

Irish/Gaelic: Coláiste Thríonóid Naofa Neamhroinnte na Banríona Eilís gar do Bhaile Átha Cliath

Trinity College, Dublin is Ireland’s oldest, most prestigious and the only Irish university to rank in the top 100 world universities (49th) and amongst the top 50 European universities (13th) by the Times Higher Education Supplement university league tables. There are over 82,500 alumni.

Trinity College builds on its four-hundred-year-old tradition of scholarship to confirm its position as one of the great universities of the world, providing a liberal environment where independence of thought is highly valued and where staff and students are nurtured as individuals and are encouraged to achieve their full potential.

Trinity is located in the centre of Dublin, Ireland, on College Green. The campus occupies 47 acres, ranged around large courts (known as “squares”) and has two playing fields.

The Library is a copyright library for Ireland and the United Kingdom, containing over 4.5 million books and significant quantities of maps, manuscripts and music.

Trinity College, Dublin is a sister college to Oriel College, University of Oxford and St John’s College, University of Cambridge.

The College is headed by the Provost, currently Dr. John Hegarty.

Currently, the Chancellor is former President of Ireland and former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Mary Robinson, and there are five Pro-Chancellors: Sir Anthony O’Reilly, the Hon. Mrs. Justice Susan Denham, Dr. Patrick Molloy, Professor Dermot McAleese and Dr. John Scattergood

Continuing the ancient United Kingdom practice of giving representation in parliament to the longer-established universities, the graduates of the University of Dublin and the Scholars of Trinity College constitute the Dublin University constituency, electing three members of Seanad Éireann, the Irish Senate.

Graduates of the National University of Ireland also elect three Senators. The senators’ term of office continues until a new general election is called by the dissolution of Dáil Éireann or Irish Parliament.

Past Trinity Senators have included the present University Chancellor Mary Robinson and Mrs. Justice Catherine McGuinness, a former member of the Irish Supreme Court and current President of the Law Reform Commission.

1592 – founded by Queen Elizabeth I of England

1600 – James Ussher Primate of All Ireland

1637 – Trinity formed a Board, (aside from the Provost, Fellows and Scholars) which carries out general governance.

1686 – Jonathan Swift, Author of “Gulliver’s Travels”

1707 – George Berkeley, Philosopher, University of California at Berkeley is named after him.

1747 – Edmund Burke, Philosophical Writer/Member of British Parliament

1749 – Oliver Goldsmith, Author “The Vicar of Wakefield” and Physician

1820 – William Rowan, Hamilton Physicist and Mathematician

1822 – William Stokes, Physician, “Cheyne-Stokes” Breathing (Apnea)

1840 – Edward Stafford, Premier of New Zealand

1846 – George Johnstone Stony, Scientist

1863 – William Lecky, Religious Writer

1870 – Bram Stoker, Author of “Dracula”

1873 – All religious tests were abolished.

1874 – Oscar Wilde, Author, Playwright; “Importance of Being Ernest”

1874 – A Council was formed which oversees academic matters.

1882 – John Joly, Physicist/Radiotherapy for Cancer

1883 – Douglas Hyde, First President of Ireland

1927 – Samuel Beckett, Nobel Laureate in Literature

1933 – Denis Burkitt, Surgeon

1951 – Ernest Walton Nobel Laureate in Physics

1967 – Mary Robinson, First Woman President of Ireland, Senator,Chancellor

1970 – The Roman Catholic Church lifted its policy of disapproval or even excommunication for Roman Catholics who enrolled without special dispensation.

1975 – Mary McAleese, First President of Ireland Born in Northern Ireland (Belfast), Reid Professor of Law

2006-07 there were 15,492 registered students and TCD secured €70.6m in research income.

2008 – The three serving Trinity Senators are Professor Ivana Bacik, a legal scholar, Mr. David Norris, the Joycean scholar, and Mr. Shane Ross, a journalist.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *